hungry hearts

We are all hungry, filled with dissatisfaction, cravings & desire for fullness. Sometimes this is good. Sometimes not. This is my journey of learning to feed my heart & share the feast with those around me. This might sound cheesy – oh well – hopefully if you knew me you'd know I'm serious. (and I'm also sometimes cheesy)

“Surf Art and the Surfer” Through the eyes of an 8 year old.

Here is a blog by the lovely Katie. (not me silly!) She graduated from the Leadership School I lead 1 year ago and has been leading the kids program since. Together with a huge team of people, she ran an awesome ‘Surf Art and the Surfer’ art show.Here is the story of how our rag tag neighborhood kids are impacted by something as seemingly random as an Art Show.

That picture is me, Dan, and Abcde (pronounced Absidy) – who names her Barbie after me ‘Because the face part looks like you.’ (Barbie didn’t make it to the art show sadly.)

Adventure Wahiawa

Image

“My name is Sony. I am 8 years old and in second grade. I live with my mom and dad, my older brother my older sister and her baby. I have moved three times this year in search of cheaper housing. I have been a part of the Ulu Pono Program for two or three years now. With Ulu Pono we make art, do homework, skateboard and go to the beach. My favorite is skate club because it is fun and scary and I do it with all my friends. This weekend was the Art Show. There was a big tent set up a few days before the show and I loved playing in it and pretending I was in the circus. We like to play at STN even when there is no Ulu Pono. My favorite game is tag but I don’t like it when people throw rocks. At…

View original post 580 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2013 by in All, Do good and tagged , , , .
